Early Riser

As far as I can remember, my mom has been the first one to wake up in the morning (she was also usually the one that went to bed the earliest… so it made logical sense that she was the first one up). She’d make breakfast, prepare lunch and wake up my brother and I to help us get ready for school.

I don’t think I appreciated the preparation that she dedicated herself to day after day until I went off to undergraduate and started making meals for myself.

“She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.” [Proverbs 31:15]

When I read this verse, I immediately think of how so many moms (and dads) sacrifice so much of their time and energy for their kids, particularly while the kids are sleeping away, unaware of how much their parents are doing for them.

But I digress — the artwork, the artwork.

I had to play around with a few facial expressions and hairstyles before I was satisfied with the composition:

IMG_1495

Then, when I sketched out a larger version with the words, I made a mental note to myself that I needed to lower the words so that the spacing would be more balanced (you’ll notice that I shifted the words down on the final outline, on the right).

This is where my lack of watercolor training comes in. I didn’t really have an order to which I was drawing things. I kind of just mixed colors, and when I came across a color I thought was appropriate for something, I painted it. It probably would have been a better idea to start off with the background colors first, before moving on to smaller details. Hence the reason why I painted the window and face… then suddenly switched to the wall and the countertop.

The last watercolor piece I did (Rare Gems) was difficult because it was a time consuming process and highly repetitive. However, after attempting this piece that had so many little details (usually my artwork is rather simple and only has one major element), I realized that painting an entire pictures was no piece of cake either.

Some things that I need to work on for future pieces like this:

  • cohesive color pallet
  • composition and focus
  • making the focal element stand out
  • depth of field
  • order of painting
Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

