Otterly Fun

I posted this otter family over a week ago… and now I’m finally getting around to blogging about it. Whoops! Haha. I’ll do my best to keep up with the blog posts…!

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” [Hebrews 11:1]

I came up with the idea of drawing otters floating in water because of the idea of faith and assurance in “things not seen.” In my mind, I was trying to come up with an image where we put faith and trust in something that isn’t particularly tangible. Things unseen to the naked eye – like air or gravity. Things that we trust will be there for us, even if we can’t confirm it with our eyes.

Of course, air and gravity are a little bit hard to draw…. so I somehow stretched the idea and landed on water. Although it’s something that we can definitely see and touch with our senses, if we swim in water, we trust that it will keep us floating and that we won’t be consumed by it and drown immediately.

Is that a bit too much of a stretch?

Well, that’s where my mind went and that’s how I ended up with a family of otters floating in water. Haha.

I’ve drawn a family of otters before, which you can check out on my IG… but you might have to scroll down a bit to find it… Haha. In any case, because I had already drawn otters, it was easier to draft up ideas of how I wanted them to look. This was the first time I was attempting to draw otters with watercolor though, and so I had to do some research on how to draw otters in water. I particularly loved how Sara Rose drew water, which I tried to emulate in my own piece.

While I was pretty pleased overall with this piece, there were a couple of mistakes that I made along the way:

  1. Picking up too much of a vivid pigment and mixing it on the paper. You’ll notice that daddy otter has a red streak on his face… and that’s because I picked up too much red and the color sunk into the paper… and would’t come off. The paper was also probably too dry, which is why it soaked up the color so fast.
  2. Baby otter looks like he’s a tiny stuffed otter that mommy otter is holding. (>_<) Haha. This may have been due to the color I chose for baby otter, but it could just as easily be because of how ridged and straight I drew baby otter.

I particularly enjoyed adding the small water details to the page after I finished coloring the entire piece. Even the fish were a lot of fun to draw. Maybe I’ll do a piece that features fishes sometime in the near future…

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

