Paper Roses

Disclaimer: I’m a sucker for collecting random junk.

I’m the type that will save a piece of paper because I think, sometime in the future, I’ll be able to use it for future projects.

I save boxes, toilet paper rolls, scrap pieces of paper and wood — the list never ends. This was a habit I picked up from my mother (who hoards equally as much, but organizes everything at a supremely higher level than myself), but it has yet to prove itself to be useful. My mother serves in the Children’s Ministry at church, so she’s constantly using up her stash of randomly collected supplies. I, on the other hand, do not have 30+ children to teach crafts to, at least not on a regular basis. This means, I just end up with a lot of stuff piled up.

Enter, these strips of paper:

IMG_1768

So many strips of paper!!

Now, you may be wonderingย why I have so many strips of paper… and that’s because I ordered prints of my artwork! I printed 4 different pieces (Foxy Family,ย Baby Dragons, Creation, andย Moon and Stars) and they’re now listed on my Etsy store! Please check it out if you’re interested! ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyways, I ordered prints for my store, and the prints came at a larger size than I ordered, so I had to cut them to size. This meant I was left with many, many strips of nice, white paper. And I didn’t want to toss them because it was such quality paper, but I also didn’t know what to do with them.

But! Then I remembered a paper flower tutorial that I pinned on Pinterestย a long time ago and I figured these would be the perfect papers to use.

IMG_1769

I won’t go through the steps of making the flowers, since I think the Pinterest tutorial already does a pretty clear job. But, I’ll share some of my thoughts on usingย Somerset Velvet Giclee paper to make flowers.

The paper is a pretty high-quality, sturdy paper, which I think works well for this project. I’ve tried this tutorial before with regular paper and it just didn’t seem to hold a nice shape or bend to the petals.

However, with this paper, despite the extra effort needed make the initial bend, it would hold up very well after bending. If you take a look at the instructions on Pinterest, it also shows measurements on where to fold the paper but, I’ll be honest, I kinda just started folding it wherever I felt like there should be a petal. XD

In addition, even though the instructions didn’t mention anything, I used a hot glue gun to hold everything together and the resulting flower was extremely sturdy.

IMG_1771

Of course, the next question is… what am I going to do with all these paper flowers? I thought I about putting them up on Etsy for sale but… my mom saw me making them and claimed them for next year’s Mother’s Day craft for the children (If you notice in the picture above, there’s one rose with a straw on it – these will potentially be turned into bouquets for the mommies. And the kids can even dip them in different colors and customize their roses). XD Haha. So, these flowers will be put to use… in 2018.

Well, if I order future prints and end up with more paper, perhaps I’ll reconsider putting them up for sale.

IMG_1772

For now… I hope you enjoyed this short tutorial! It was a bit different from the watercolor pieces I’ve been putting up. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

